Compiled and translated by Joan M. Tenenbaum;
Woodcut illustrations by Dale DeArmond
Edition of 400 (1976 version)
Edition of 1000 (1984 version)
272 pages

Note: commonly known as the Nondalton Legends series, the stories were originally compiled and translated by Tenenbaum in 1976. It is the 2nd edition version, published by the University of Alaska Fairbanks’ Alaska Native Language Center in 1984, that feature DeArmond’s woodcut illustrations; she happily gave consent for use in the book.

Click here for more information on this series.

Original 1976 version, limited to 400 copies.

Versions from 1984 and 2006 featuring DeArmond’s woodcut illustrations.

Available from the Valdez Museum Historical Archive; click here for information and to purchase.

Available from the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), Alaska Native Language Center; click here for information and to purchase.